Stamps

A brief to create a set of stamps for an imagined city/country. Researching for this project was really interesting, and I looked into class systems of different eras and societies. Mine was an island called ‘Gullet’ with a very strict class divide; Nobility, Aristocrats, Merchants and Peasants. I wanted the posture of each profile to slowly sag, as the class became less privileged and over worked. I was quite proud of this outcome and I enjoyed adding lithography to my printing experience.

stampsstamps-2stamps-3stamps-1

Initial sketches

gullet
Lithography Print – looses some of the detail of the sketches, but I like the cross-hatchy, scratchy nature of the prints.

 

2 thoughts on “Stamps

Leave a Reply

